Close
Save

View

Back


Isla

Adoption in Progress

Adoption in progress

Description

Age: 5 years
Sex: Female (BARCs will cover her spay surgery)
Estimated Breed: Corgi mix
Weight: 25 lbs
Good with dogs?: Yes, with other well mannered, low/medium energy dogs
Good with cats?: Unknown
Good with children?: Yes, but older preferred
Special/Medical Needs: No
Energy Level: Medium / Low
Minimum Adoption Fee: $650
Foster Home Location: Airdrie, AB

Hi! My name is Isla - I’m a sweet lady looking for my furever home. A little about me:

I sleep all night in my crate with no crying, and have not had one accident in the house. My foster mom can say my name and point to my crate and I go right in during the day. This is where I spend my time when she's not at home. I don't love going in my crate at night though because I want to sleep with my foster fur brother on his bed. I will go in with some coaxing, though and don't make a fuss. I sleep all night from 9:30pm to 7:00am.

I try to be such a good girl and will sit for you without even asking when it’s time to put my leash and harness on and give you my paw. I have also learned how to sit and am doing well with my training.

I walk great on a leash - no pulling at all. It takes me a little longer on my walks as I like to smell everything. I need a patient owner who will let me smell all the smells.

Since I can be a little shy in new situations, I would love a home that has older humans or adults only - just so I don’t get chased around.

I get along with my foster fur-brother (he’s ~15lbs and 3 years old) - it took me a bit to get used to playing with him but we run around every day now. I'm still getting used to these "toys" and I now play gently with them.

I LOVE human pets and snuggles and will give you lots of kisses. When I first arrived, I was quite stressed out and did resource guard my toys and foster mom, but I don't do that anymore.

I don’t have any separation anxiety, but because I love affection so much, I would really love my person or family to be home most or all of the time.

I’m low to medium energy and will spend my day sleeping and playing with my foster fur-brother.

I do great in the bathtub with peanut butter distractions - I don't try to jump out of the tub or anything.

So far, I do great in the car - I cry a tiny bit but my foster mom can barely hear me. I've gone for rides in my crate and also with a dog seatbelt (which I prefer) I will happily jump out on my own when it’s time to go.

Mani and pedi’s are no problem at the groomers.

My foster mom said to tell you that I haven’t been tested around cats.

Overall, Isla is the easiest foster dog we’ve ever had. Her new family will be really lucky to have such a great pup and I expect she will come out of her shell more with time. She would be a dream dog for first time dog owners, a family with older children, a single person or couple. She does well around other well-mannered dogs - we met one very hyper big dog who was lunging at her to play and she was scared - so a home without high energy dogs will be best. She does seek out affection often and will cover you in kisses when she gets out of her crate in the morning.

Adoption costs: $650.00