Janice (Golden Lab Puppy Female 1)



Estimate Age: 8 Months old
Sex: Female (BARCs will cover her spay when she is old enough)
Estimated Breed: Lab Mix
Good with dogs? Yes
Good with cats? Unknown
Good with children? Unknown
Special/Medical Needs:
Estimated Energy Level: Medium-High
Minimum Adoption Fee: $725
Current Location: St Albert, AB

Hi there! My name is Janice but my foster parents call me Autumn. Why? Well, because that’s the season that my life changed forever!

First of all, YES, I am as soft and sweet as I look. Alright, now with that said, let’s get to it. Not much is known about my old life other than I lived outside with my siblings. Did you know that I had a near-death experience? Thankfully BARC’s stepped in and found me a foster home, so I got a second chance!

When I first came into foster care, I was super nervous. I cowered and cried a lot, like… a LOT! Everything was so new and scary. My world was flipped upside down but my foster parents assured me that everything was going to be okay, and they were right! With a lot of treats and encouragement, I quickly learned how to wear a harness and a collar, walk on a leash, walk through doorways, go up and down stairs, and trust the new people and dogs around me. I’ve learned that I’m loved and I have nothing to worry about. It’s been 3 weeks in foster care and I’m relaxed now. Actually, things are pretty wonderful these days.

My foster parents say I’m a sweet, bright, and gentle girl. I’m a total lap dog and want nothing more than to be with you. Like most dogs, I’ve thrived with structure and consistency and I will need this in my forever home in order to feel safe and learn my boundaries, as I can be a bit head strong when it comes to particular things like sleeping in your bed. I have only had a few accidents in the house because I’ve started to ring a bell to go outside, and I know my name and some of my basic commands like “sit”, “down”, and “come”. I’m working on “leave it”.

I sleep all night on my bed beside my foster parents (but if you’re looking for a sleeping partner, I’M IN!) and I go in my crate during the day when they are at work. Speaking of my crate, can I please have a wire crate? The plastic crates make me feel too closed in and I tend to panic. I can still be a bit vocal when I’m left alone, but each day, I’m getting better and better at relaxing. Having a few toys to keep me busy while you’re gone and calming nature music has helped.

I was fostered with two other dogs who welcomed me and helped show me how to “dog” in this new world. I would do best in a home that has a confident, playful buddy for me but my foster parents think I’d also be OK being the only dog since my confidence has improved so much. I’m not overly energetic, and I’m respectful with other dogs. I do enjoy a good wrestling match but since I’m still a pup my play sessions should be supervised to make sure I’m listening to my doggy pal’s cues and they’re listening to mine. I haven’t met any cats or kids yet.

Other items on my wish list include a yard to explore, somebody that isn’t gone for tooooo many hours every day (I’m good with up to 7 hours right now but love it when my foster parents check on me mid-day), and a flat bed that I can stretch out on. I would also love some squeaky toys, some balls to chase, and soft stuffies. Oh, and a lot of cuddles.

I’m ready for my last big transition - my forever home. I might be nervous at first, so I'll need somebody who will meet me where I’m at and show me structure, patience, and love until I learn that I’m safe again. My foster parents think I'll come around quick, just like I did at their house. Could my forever be with you?”

Adoption costs: $725.00