Name: Mona
ID # A147329
Estimated Age: 3 years
Sex: Female (Her spay surgery will be covered by BARCs at one of BARCs’ veterinary partners)
Estimated Breed: Bully Mix
Weight: 35 lbs.
Good with Dogs: Yes
Good with Cats: Yes
Good with Children: Older children
Special/Medical Needs:
Estimated Energy Level: Low/Medium
Current Location: Calgary, AB
Adoption Fee: $650

Hi there, my name is Mona! My foster Mom calls me her Mon-amie. I get along well with my foster Mom’s mini dachshund; we love playing together in the backyard and we go on walks together which I really enjoy too! I love sniffing all the different and interesting smells around my neighborhood on my walks. When my foster Mom and I go out for walks I will get so excited and curious to see other humans, dogs, or wildlife that I will pull and lunge toward them - and I am a very strong girl! My foster Mom and I are working on this. I haven’t learned yet that I can do my business outside on my walks. I have had a few accidents in the house, and I am practicing going outside! I am a very loving girl; I follow my foster Mom everywhere. I love getting attention and cuddles from her! I don’t mind staying in my crate at all. I go in no problem when my foster Mom is away at work, and I don’t mind sleeping in it at night in her room either.

I have 3 foster brothers who I will cuddle with on the couch but as soon as they stand up, they scare me, and I will bark and become skittish around them. My foster Mom thinks I’d be OK with slow introductions to men or a woman-only household. I love getting liver treats and I always take my treats very gently. My foster Mom has given me bully sticks and I think they’re absolutely delicious - and I love a liver treat filled Kong too! I am really good at sharing my treats with my canine brother. I haven’t been around cats since living with my foster family.

Sometimes loud noises will scare me, and I get a bit skittish and bark. I have done really well on car rides on the few occasions I’ve been on one.

Mona is an absolute sweetheart. I have loved having her stay with us and so has my dog. She has not shown food aggression. She has good name recall in my house and will listen when you say “no” or “stop”. She has done well getting cleaned off in the shower. We are working on leash skills. She fears men and will bark, put her tail between her legs and become skittish around them. I have only seen this when they are standing up as she is game to cuddle with my sons on the couch. I think she would do best in a house with older children due to her skittishness. She needs someone who can help build her confidence. She does not bark very much, but she will bark if there is someone at the door, if there are loud noises or if one of my boys comes up the stairs. She is the absolute gentlest girl when taking treats and loves to cuddle on the couch - she makes a great snuggle partner. Anyone would be very blessed to have this awesome girl in their lives, she has the sweetest soul, and she is a true gem.

Adoption costs: $650.00